How The Group Stage Draw Works


Sydney FC will learn who they’ll face in the 2018 AFC Champions League group stage on Wednesday night, with the official draw to take place in Kuala Lumpur from 7:30pm AEDT.

As reigning Hyundai A-League Champions, Sydney FC will be placed in Group H and will be drawn against the second placed Chinese team, Shanghai Shenhua FC.

The Sky Blues will then be drawn against either a Korean or Japanese team who will occupy the third place in Group H, while the fourth place in the group will be the winner of either Playoff 3.1 or Playoff 3.2 depending on the nationality of the team.

The playoff winner could be any of Korean powerhouse Suwon Samsung Bluewings, any four of the Japanese teams yet to qualify, Eastern Sports Club, FLC Than Hoa, Muangthong United or Johor Darul Ta’zim.

There’s plenty to get excited about with big names and familiar faces in line to face your Sky  Blues, with Shanghai boasting names like Carlos Tevez and Obafemi Martins, while should Suwon progress it’ll be a welcome return to Allianz Stadium for former Sky Blue Matthew Jurman.

Stay tuned to Sydney FC’s social media as we provide updates on the draw throughout the evening from 7:30pm AEDT on Wednesday 6 December.

Click here for the complete 2018 AFC Champions League group stage draw mechanism.


AFC Champions League Memberships are now available! Purchase yours before Friday 8 December to guarantee your same seat for our three blockbuster Group Stage clashes as we go on our #QuestToBeTheBest! Click here to secure your seats.