Historic Sydney FC Win Consecutive Premiers Plates


Record-breaking Hyundai A-League Champions Sydney FC have become the first club in A-League history to win consecutive Premierships, cementing their place as one of the greatest Australian football teams of all time.

The Sky Blues have amassed 124 points and 38 wins from 52 A-League matches across the last two seasons with a win percentage of 73%, while they have also equalled the most number of Premiers’ Plate wins with three.

Striker Bobô surpassed the record for the most number of goals scored by one player in a regular season with his two strikes (24) on a record breaking night in Perth last night.

The Sky Blues are also on course to beat the record for most numbers of goals in a season having reached 60 goals with a target of 64.

The trophy is Sydney FC’s second of the season following their FFA Cup win in November and fourth in a row after last season’s double win.

However the club is not done yet as they power towards the A-League Finals Series with guaranteed home advantage.


Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow congratulated the squad and paid tribute to their performances.

“To win consecutive Premiers Plates is truly a remarkable achievement and one which the whole club can be extremely proud of,” he said.

“We have witnessed some fantastic occasions over the last two years and I am confident there are more to come.

“Our record will go down in history as one of the best in Australian sport and I’d like to congratulate everyone involved.”

Sky Blues Head Coach Graham Arnold gave credit to his squad and backroom staff but believes there is still more to come.

“It’s a massive achievement to go back to back and congratulations to everyone involved but we’re not done yet,” he said.

“We have some huge challenges ahead and our plan is to continue to keep breaking points and goal-scoring records.

“This group of players have come a long way and if we keep our focus for the remaining games we can create a huge amount of history.”

Not since 1995 has an Australian football team won two consecutive Premierships when Melbourne Knights secured consecutive NSL titles.

Captain Alex Brosque says the achievement will be one which will be remembered for a long time to come.

“It’s very special, I think for the young boys they probably don’t realise yet how special it is but having been around for a long time and realising it hasn’t been done since I’ve been playing football, it’s very, very special.

“I’m sure the young boys will reflect at some point and realise what we’ve done.”

The Sky Blues will be presented with the Premiers Plate in front of their home crowd at Allianz Stadium when they meet Melbourne Victory on Friday 13th April (kick off 7.50pm).


We’re the Hyundai A-League Premiers but we’re #NotDoneYet…Be at Allianz Stadium for our remaining two clashes and secure your seats, say you were there and be a part of history!