Gersbach Earns Young Socceroos Cap


Sydney FC youngster Alex Gersbach has been called up for Young Socceroos squad for the upcoming AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers to be held in Laos next month.

Young Socceroos Head Coach Paul Okon has named 23 players in the squad for the upcoming Qualifiers which will be held at the National Sports Complex Stadium, Vientiane, Laos.

Okon has selected 15 players from Hyundai A-League clubs, four from PlayStation 4 NPL clubs and four overseas-based players.

Okon is confident that this group of players are up to the challenge of qualifying for the AFC U-19 Championship.

“This is the start of this group’s World Cup journey.

“It will be a difficult challenge, especially with Japan in our group.

“We have had a number of camps and training matches together and the boys know the type of football we want to play.

“The challenge now is to perform under tournament conditions,” concluded Okon.

The Young Socceroos will open their campaign against the Philippines on Friday 2 October, then Laos on Sunday 4 October and finally Japan on Tuesday 6 October.

Ten group winners and five best second-placed teams will qualify for the AFC U-19 Championships while hosts Bahrain received an automatic qualification (total 16 teams).

The top 4 teams from the AFC U-19 Championship then qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2017 in the Korea Republic.



Daniel ALESSI – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

Adam BERRY – Central Coast Mariners

Nicholas D’AGOSTINO – Brisbane Roar FC

Caio DE GODOY – Emerging Jets Squad

Thomas DENG – Melbourne Victory

Cameron DEVLIN – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

Patrick FLOTTMAN – Blacktown City (NSW)

Alusine FOFANAH – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

Alex GERSBACH – Sydney FC

Thomas GLOVER – Tottenham Hotspur, England

Jordan HOLMES – AFC Bournemouth, England

Steve KUZMANOVSKI – Melbourne City FC

Daniel MARGUSH – Adelaide United

George MELLS – Adelaide United

William MUTCH – Blacktown Spartans (NSW)

Connor O’TOOLE – Seiritsu Gakuen Tokyo, Japan

Dejan PANDUREVIC – Manly United FC (NSW)

Lachlan ROBERTS – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

Liam ROSE – Central Coast Mariners

Mario SHABOW – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

George TIMOTHEOU – Blacktown City (NSW)

Brandon WILSON – Burnley FC, England

Liam YOULLEY – Western Sydney Wanderers FC

Sydney FC A-League Memberships are now on sale for the Hyundai A-League 2015/16 season.    Click HERE  to become part of the Sky Blues family