Five Sydney FC players selected in Australian U17’s

Five Sydney FC Academy players have been selected in the Australian U17’s side who will be competing in the U17 AFC Asian Cup which will be held in Thailand later this month.

Zachary De Jesus, Mitch Glasson, Jacob McLachlan, Richard Nkomo and Tiago Quintal who were all named in the squad.

Having finished top of their qualifying group hosted in Shepparton (Victoria) during October 2022, the Australians have been drawn in Group C and will face Saudi Arabia (16 June) and China PR (19 June) at Chonburi Stadium before completing the round robin group stage format against Tajikistan (22 June) at Bangkok’s Rajamangala National Stadium.

The 2023 AFC U-17 Asian Cup™ features the 10 group winners and five best runners-up from the Qualifiers, along with hosts Thailand.

Australia will need to reach the semi-finals to qualify for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2023™, currently scheduled to run 10 November – 2 December 2023, with the host country to be confirmed by FIFA following Peru’s withdrawal as tournament host.

The Subway Joeys’ coaching unit and support staff for the upcoming AFC U-17 Asian Cup includes Brad Maloney (Head Coach), Assistant Coach Michael Cooper, Goalkeeper Coach Davide del Giovine, Sports Scientist Josh Gould, Doctor Andriy Boyko, Physiotherapist Luis Resa, Equipment Manager Guido Chayan and Analyst Huw Cox.

Catch all the Subway Joeys’ AFC U-17 Asian Cup Thailand 2023 matches live and free on 10 Play.

AFC U-17 Asian Cup Thailand 2023™ Group Stage Draw

Group A: Thailand, Yemen, Malaysia, Laos

Group B: Korea Republic, IR Iran, Afghanistan, Qatar

Group C: Tajikistan, Australia, Saudi Arabia, China PR

Group D: Japan, India, Vietnam, Uzbekistan

Australia – AFC U-17 Asian Cup Thailand 2023™ Group Stage Match Schedule

Friday 16 June – Australia vs Saudi Arabia at 5.00pm local / 8.00pm AEST, Chonburi Stadium

Monday 19 June – Australia vs China PR at 5.00pm local / 8.00pm AEST, Chonburi Stadium

Thursday 22 June – Australia vs Tajikistan at 5.00pm local / 8.00pm AEST, Rajamangala National Stadium (Bangkok)