Five Sky Blues named in Young Socceroos Squad

Five Sydney FC players have been named in the Young Socceroos squad for the upcoming U19 ASEAN Boys’ Championship.

Zac De Jesus, Pearson Kasawaya, Tiago Quintal, Max Vartuli and Tyler Williams are the Sydney FC contingent included in the 23 player squad bound for Indonesia.

The Young Socceroos have been drawn in Group B and will take on Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam from the 18th to the 24th of July.

Vartuli (left) with this season’s Sydney FC keepers

Young Socceroos’ Head Coach, Trevor Morgan said the Championships provided an important opportunity to expose players to challenging tournament conditions in Asia.

“This tournament is a perfect chance to develop these players through competitive matches and allow them to show what they can bring come September,” Morgan said.

Quintal (left) celebrates his goal in the NPL team
De Jesus in A-League action
Tyler Williams playing in the NPL
Pearson Kasawaya

“We’ve made several considerations when selecting this squad, including allowing players who travelled to South America in June a chance to rest before they join A-League pre-season at their respective clubs, and most importantly, the opportunity for this group players to gain experience and perform for their country, something they have earned.

“We’ve had the chance to completely change the squad between assemblies and the fact we can do this shows the depth of talent available, and the belief we have in giving players the chance to step up. It’s important we continue to develop this group as they move through our pathway, and being involved in tournament football is the perfect environment to achieve that.”

Match Details

Laos v Young Socceroos
Thursday, 18 July 2024
Gelora 10 November Stadium, Surabaya
Kick-off: 3.00pm local / 6.00pm AEST

Young Socceroos v Vietnam
Sunday, 21 July 2024
Gelora 10 November Stadium, Surabaya
Kick-off: 3.00pm local / 6.00pm AEST

Myanmar v Young Socceroos
Wednesday, 24 July 2024
Gelora 10 November Stadium, Surabaya
Kick-off: 3.00pm local / 6.00pm AEST

Full Squad

Peter ANTONIOUDefenderMelbourne City FC
Adam BUGARIJAMidfielderPerth Glory FC
Zac DE JESUSDefenderSydney FC
Daniel GRASKOSKIGoalkeeperMelbourne Victory FC
Zane HELWEHMidfielderMacarthur Bulls FC
Lucas HERRINGTONDefenderBrisbane Roar FC
Jesse HOEYMidfielderMelbourne Victory
Ryley HOLLINGDALEMidfielderWestern Sydney Wanderers FC
Pearson KASAWAYADefenderSydney FC
Dylan LEONARDDefenderWestern United FC
Medin MEMETIForwardMelbourne City FC
Jake NAJDOVSKIForwardWestern United FC
Dylan PERAIC-CULLENGoalkeeperCentral Coast Mariners FC
Tiago QUINTALForwardSydney FC
Kavian RAHMANIMidfielderMelbourne City FC
Oliver RANDAZZOMidfielderMacarthur Bulls FC
Xavier STELLAMidfielderMelbourne City FC
Arion SULEMANIForwardMelbourne City FC
Fabian TALLADIRADefenderAdelaide United FC
Ben VAN DORSSENDefenderNewcastle Jets FC
Max VARTULIGoalkeeperSydney FC
Tyler WILLIAMSDefenderSydney FC
Marcus YOUNISMidfielderWestern Sydney Wanderers FC