No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled
No upcoming games
Future matches are yet to be scheduled

Please update your browser

Unfortunately you cannot view this website on the current version of your browser. Please either update your browser or use an alternative browser.

May 07, 2013   |  4:50PM AET

Del Piero And Neill In Fans Foxtel All Stars Squad

Del Piero And Neill In Fans Foxtel All Stars Squad

The fans have had their say and it looks like stunning seasons from Mat Ryan, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Shinji Ono and Alessandro del Piero are to be rewarded.

The top 35 players have been selected by fans for the inaugural Foxtel A-League All Stars match and they include Sydney FC striker Alessandro Del Piero as well as Socceroos skipper and Sky Blues guest player Lucas Neill.

The pair have been chosen following over 30,000 votes from fans and will now be considered for selection in the final squad of 18, when the All Stars debut against Manchester United at ANZ Stadium on 20 July.

In the first stage of All Star selection, the fans were able to choose from all 10 A-League clubs in picking 15 player squads. Fans were also able to select their preferred formation.

The fans vote accounts for 50 per cent of the final 18-man squad selected from all eligible players who will take on the English Champions in July.

The top players in each positional category are:

Goalkeeper: Mat Ryan (Central Coast Mariners)
Defender: Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Midfielder: Shinji Ono (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Striker: Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney FC)

The most popular formation on the fan voting was 4-4-2.

The Foxtel A-League All Stars Expert Panel, accounting for 20 per cent of the overall vote, will next take charge of the squad-s evolution with key selections set to take place in the coming weeks.

Foxtel A-League All Stars Coach Ange Postecoglou will then use his 10 per cent voting right before including his three coach select players to make up the 18-man squad to face Manchester United on 20 July.

With the 20 per cent Player vote via the PFA Team of the Year already taken into account excitement is building for the announcement of the inaugural Foxtel A-League All Stars.

The announcement of the Foxtel A-League All Stars Coaching support team will be announced next week on Monday, 13 May, including an assistant coach, goalkeeper coach and medical and support team.

The top 35 players in order of fan voting


1.Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners) / 2. Ante Covic (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 3. Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United) / 4. Michael Theo (Brisbane Roar) / 5. Nathan Coe (Melbourne Victory)


1.Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 2. Pedj Bojic (Central Coast Mariners) / 3. Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners) / 4. Adama Traore (Melbourne Victory) / 5. Michael Beauchamp (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 6. Lucas Neill (Sydney FC) / 7. Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar) / 8. Trent Sainsbury (Central Coast Mariners) / 9. Michael Thwaite (Perth Glory) / 10. Joshua Rose (Central Coast Mariners)


1. Shinji Ono (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 2. Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar) / 3. Youssouf Hersi (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 4. Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners) / 5. Aaron Mooy (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 6. Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory) / 7. Dario Vidosic (Adelaide United) / 8. Marcos Flores (Melbourne Victory) / 9. Richard Garcia (Melbourne Heart) / 10. Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United)


1. Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney FC) / 2. Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory) / 3. Emile Heskey (Newcastle Jets) / 4. Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory) / 5. Daniel McBreen (Central Coast Mariners) / 6. Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar) / 7. Jeremy Brockie (Wellington Phoenix) / 8. Shane Smeltz (Perth Glory) / 9. Mark Bridge (Western Sydney Wanderers) / 10. Bernie Ibini (Central Coast Mariners)


1. 4-4-2 / 2. 4-2-3-1 / 3. 4-3-3 / 4. 3-5-2 / 5. 4-3-2-1

The next Sydney FC in Business lunch will be held at the IVY on Wednesday 19 June. Our distinguished keynote speaker of this event is one of Australia-s most influential and experienced media executives, David Gyngell, Chief Executive Officer of Nine Entertainment Co. Pty Ltd. Tickets start from $200 per seat or $1,800 for a table of 10 incl GST, to secure your place contact Nic Barbato on 8314 5100 or email a completed booking form to