‘Cracking Start’: E-League Round 1 Wrap


Sydney FC enjoyed an opening round win in the E-League defeating Melbourne City 5-4 on aggregate. Check out the full wrap!

The inaugural E-League season launched in style on Thursday night as Australia’s finest FIFA 18 exponents showcased their skills in an entertaining opening round.

Streamed live on Twitch and Fox Sports, each Hyundai A-League club was represented by one player on Xbox and another on PlayStation 4.

The two-legged format saw the Sky Blues claim a first round win with a 5-4 aggregate victory over Melbourne City to join a host of teams at the summit after the first of nine competition weeks.

Read on for how the first taste of E-League action played out and view the ladder at the bottom of the page.


Melbourne City 4-5 Sydney FC 

  • Mark Brijeski came up big for Sydney FC as his heart-stopping PS4 success made the difference in a 5-4 aggregate victory against Melbourne City.

Xbox: Marcus ‘SoccerStar07777’ Gomes 1-1 Samer ‘Samer96_’ Elbadar

Billed as the tournament’s standout star, City’s Marcus Gomes was forced to settle for a 1-1 draw with Sydney FC representative Samer Elbadar.

Gomes appeared on track when he broke the deadlock at the end of a cagey first half, Ronaldo firing home from the edge of the area for City.

Elbadar proved he was up to the contest, though, with Cristiano Ronaldo earning Sydney FC a surprise draw by finding space in the area and levelling matters soon after the restart.


PS4: Josh ‘joshingwood’ Wood 3-4 Mark ‘xMarkoHD’ Brijeski

Sydney FC’s Mark Brijeski survived a stunning fightback from Josh Wood to hold on for a nail-biting 4-3 triumph.

After the first tie left the clubs level, Brijeski fired the Sky Blues into the ascendancy with a dominant three-goal first half.

He looked to be cruising to victory until Wood launched an incredible Messi-inspired comeback, levelling the score out of nowhere.

But the City man was left heartbroken in his efforts to secure a share of the points as Brijeski recovered to grab a decisive 86th-minute winner.