Bulut fires Sydney youth to hard-fought Melbourne victory

Sydney FC’s young guns have continued Melbourne’s misery with a late strike from Kerim Bulut securing the points for the Junior Sky Blues in Saturday’s National Youth League clash with the Victory.

Sydney FC-s young guns have continued Melbourne-s misery with a late strike from Kerim Bulut securing the points for the Junior Sky Blues in Saturday-s National Youth League clash with the Victory.

After watching the senior side demolish Melbourne on Friday night, Steve O-Connor-s squad took to the artificial turf at the Veneto Club and secured their place at the top of the table with a hard-fought 1-nil win.

“It was a good win, they-re a decent side,” said Coach O-Connor. “We-ve got plenty to work on and improve on but the good thing was the boys toughed out a fairly even game and got away with the points.”

Both sides spurned good opportunities during the round-5 encounter and the match seemed destined to end in a scoreless draw before a late raid down the right from substitute, Hussein Akil cracked open the contest.

Akil beat the left fullback before crossing low for Bulut – the striker found space between Victory-s centre backs the fired off a shot under the advancing keeper, claiming all the points for his side with only three minutes remaining on the clock.

Next up for the junior Sky Blues is a top-of-the-table clash with Adelaide United, prior to the Hyundai A-League meeting between the teams next Friday afternoon at Hindmarsh Stadium.

CLICK HERE to visit the National Youth League page of the Hyundai A-League home page and read a full report.

Match Detail

Melbourne Victory 0
Sydney FC 1 (9. Kerim Bulut 87′)

Melbourne Victory Lineup: Mitchell LANGERAK (gk), Aziz BEHICH (c), Mate DUGANDZIC, Nathan ELASI, Matthew FOSCHINI, Petar FRANJIC, Stephen HATZIKOSTAS, Antonio LA VERDE (Bradley NORTON 57-), Craig SWEENEY (Matthew DEMO 60-), Simon TOLLI (Tedros YABIO 57-), Evan Berger.

Substitutes not used: Sebastian MATTEI (gk).

Yellow cards: Nil.
Red cards: Nil.

Sydney FC Lineup: 1. Nenad VEKIC (gk), 3. Mitchell SPEER, 4. Adam CASEY (OA)( 8. Hussein AKIL 45′), 5. Sam GALLAGHER, 6. Antony GOLEC (c), 9. Kerim BULUT, 11. Iain RAMSAY (7. Dimitri PETRATOS 60′), 13. Joel CHIANESE, 14. Tim MCGOWAN, 16. Chris PAYNE, 17. Luke AUSTIN.

Substitutes Not Used: Mark PULLMAN (gk).

Yellow cards: Sam GALLAGHER 81-.
Red cards: Nil.

Referee: Lucien Laverdure (at Veneto Club, Melbourne).