Blackwood Replaces Antonis In Olyroos Squad


Young Sky Blue and NYL Golden Boot winner, George Blackwood, has earned a late call up to Olyroos squad as he takes the place of fellow Sydney FC star Terry Antonis.

Antonis and Kwame Yeboah have been ruled out of the Olyroos squad for the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) U-23 Championship Qualifiers in Chinese Taipei, starting this Friday (27 March 2015).

Blackwood will replace Antonis while Yeboah’s position will be filled by Western Sydney striker Jaushua Sotorio.

The AFC U-23 Championship, which will be played in Qatar in 2016, also doubles as the qualification tournament for the 2016 Olympic Games. The top three (3) ranked teams from the AFC U-23 Championship qualifying for the 2016 Olympic Games Football Tournament.

To progress to the AFC U-23 Championship, the Olyroos need to finish top of Group F in Chinese Taipei or be one of the best five second place teams.


Olyroos squad for AFC U-23 Championship Qualifiers – Group F

Mustafa AMINI – Borussia Dortmund, Germany

George BLACKWOOD – Sydney FC, Australia

Josh BRILLANTE – Empoli, Italy

Corey BROWN – Brisbane Roar, Australia

Cameron BURGESS – Ross County, Scotland

Daniel DE SILVA – Perth Glory, Australia

James DONACHIE – Brisbane Roar, Australia

Jack DUNCAN (gk) – Perth Glory, Australia

Ryan EDWARDS – Reading FC, England

Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO – Swansea FC, England

Scott GALLOWAY – Melbourne Victory, Australia

Jason GERIA – Melbourne Victory, Australia

John HALL (gk) – Adelaide United, Australia

Andrew HOOLE – Newcastle Jets, Australia

Jackson IRVINE – Ross County, Scotland

Aaron LENNOX (gk) – Queens Park Rangers, England

Jamie MACLAREN – Perth Glory, Australia

Connor PAIN – Melbourne Victory, Australia

Brad SMITH – Liverpool, England

Jaushua SOTORIO – Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia

Adam TAGGART – Fulham FC, England

Steven UGARKOVIC – NK Osijek, Croatia

Ryan WILLIAMS – Fulham FC, England

Sydney FC’s next home game is against Adelaide United on Saturday 4th April at Allianz Stadium (kick off 7.30pm).  Purchase tickets today or become a Member and ensure you don’t miss a moment of Hyundai A-League action by heading to www.ticketek.com.au/sydneyfc