Alex Wilkinson – Australia’s Most Decorated Footballer


Sydney FC Captain Alex Wilkinson has recorded Australian football history, with the former Socceroo becoming the only player to be involved in five Premiership winning squads in men’s national leagues history.

Andrew Redmayne, Seb Ryall, Matt Simon and Michael Theo have all been involved in four title winning squads, and following the Sky Blues’ 2019/20 success, Wilkinson now stands alone atop the list of most decorated players.

The Sky Blues’ Captain has claimed the plate twice at the Central Coast Mariners in 2007/08 and 2011/12, and a treble of titles at Sydney FC in 2016/17, 2017/18 and 2019/20, with no other player in Australian men’s national leagues history matching this feat.

The central defender has also claimed the K League 1 twice in 2014 and 2015, as well as two Hyundai A-League Championships with Sydney FC in 2016/17 and 2018/19, an FFA Cup title with the Sky Blues in 2017, and the AFC Asian Cup with the Socceroos in 2015.

“It’s definitely something to be proud of,” Wilkinson said.

“It just goes to show I’ve been lucky enough to play in some great teams, especially this Sydney FC team over the last four years, it’s been such a successful period, and the most fun, enjoyable and successful part of my career.

“To be able to get three Premierships with Sydney FC in four years is a huge achievement, and the two with the Mariners, they’re a club I spent a lot of time at and are close to my heart.”


Of the five titles he’s won, Wilkinson said the Sky Blues record-breaking 2016/17 success stands out as his favourite; a season in which other Australian football history was also set.

“I think the one where we broke the record a couple of seasons ago, where we got 66 points, that was probably the one that stands out,” he said.

“Just in terms of the way the season went, how successful we were on the pitch only losing one game and breaking the points record. That one stands out.”

Wilkinson’s success sees him overtake NSL stalwarts including Francis Awaritefe, Con Boutsianis and Damian Mori, all of whom also boast four titles, and the Sky Blues’ Captain said it’s an honour to be ranked amongst those players.

“It’s pretty humbling to be amongst some of those names, they’re guys that have had wonderful careers in the old national league and represented Australia,” he said.

“To be amongst those names is an honour for me and is testament to the fact I’ve been a part of some great teams and had some great coaches.”

Hyundai A-League players to have won 5 Premierships:
– Alex Wilkinson

Hyundai A-League players to have won 4 Premierships:
– Andrew Redmayne
– Seb Ryall
– Matt Simon
– Michael Theo

Players to have won 4 Premierships in all men’s national league seasons since 1977:
– Francis Awaritefe
– Josip Biskic
– Con Boutsianis
– Fausto De Amicis
– Andrew Marth
– Damian Mori
– Tom Pondeljak
– Andrew Redmayne
– Seb Ryall
– Mark Silic
– Matt Simon
– Michael Theo