Adrian Mierzejewski Claims Johnny Warren Medal


Sydney FC have taken out a host of the top honours at Australian football’s night of nights the prestigious Dolan Warren Awards, with star forward Adrian Mierzejewski scooping the evening’s top award, the Johnny Warren medal for the best player in the Hyundai A-League.

Voted on a 3-2-1 basis by a four body independent panel after each regular season game, Mierzejewski’s honour confirms his status as the best player in the Hyundai A-League for the 2017/18 season.

Mierzejewski received 37 points from a panel that included former professional players, technical experts, match officials and media representatives. He was followed by Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets – 26 points), Leroy George (Melbourne Victory – 26 points), Bobô (Sydney FC – 24 points) and Isaias (Adelaide United – 20 points).

In claiming the prestigious accolade, Mierzejewski becomes the second successive Sydney FC player to receive the award, after Milos Ninkovic was crowned the country’s best player last season.

The Polish genius, who scored 13 goals and notched nine assists during the regular season, expressed his happiness at winning the award.

“I’m delighted to have won the Johnny Warren Medal,” Mierzejewski said.

“To have been voted the Hyundai A-League’s best player is a great honour and very humbling but I couldn’t have achieved this award without all my fantastic teammates. They have helped me and my family settle into Sydney and their hard work allows me to go out each week and play my natural game.

“I would also like to pay thanks to our Head Coach Graham Arnold, as well as all the coaching and medical staff at Sydney FC.  They are the best staff in Australian football.  

“Finally I want to thank my family and the Sydney FC members for their support and belief in us this season.

“They are the most important thing for me and their backing has helped me to achieve everything I have this year.”


Sydney FC Head Coach Graham Arnold paid testament to Mierzejewski’s talent and praised his Premiership winning winger.

“Adrian has had an outstanding season and he is very deserving of this high award,” Arnold said.

“To come to a new country and league and to perform as he has done in his first season is a remarkable achievement.

“He has shown what a top class player he is and he has been a key part of our success this season.

“It’s a great honour for Sydney FC to have won this award for the second year in a row and long may it continue.”

The Sky Blues have taken home a number of other top awards tonight.

Head Coach Graham Arnold was voted the Hyundai A-League’s Coach of the Year for the second successive season after ensuring Sydney FC became the first team in history to win back to back Premiers Plates.  The Sky Blues finished 14 points clear of any other team at the top and also broke a number of other records, including the highest number of goals in an A-League season.

Brazilian striker Bobô secured the Hyundai A-League Golden Boot after becoming the highest ever goalscorer in a Hyundai A-League season with his 27 goals in 27 games.

Westfield W-League striker Lisa De Vanna took out the Westfield Goal of the Year Award for her superb curling strike against Canberra United at Allianz Stadium.

Finally Sydney FC’s Hyundai A-League team won the Fair Play Award with club captain Alex Brosque picking up the gong on behalf of the squad.

Sydney FC Dolan-Warren Awards.

  • Adrian Mierzejewski – Johnny Warren Medal
  • Graham Arnold – Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year
  • Bobô – Hyundai A-League Golden Boot
  • Sydney FC – Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award
  • Lisa De Vanna – Westfield W-League Goal of the Season