A-Leagues Fixtures – Key Points

The 2023-24 A-Leagues season is only weeks away and the full fixtures for both competitions have arrived!

It shapes up as a landmark campaign in the Liberty A-League, with the introduction of a full home and away season for the first time in the competition’s history and the return of the Central Coast Mariners. The season kicks off the A-Leagues campaign on October 14, with the Sydney Derby at Allianz Stadium headlining the opening day.

Isuzu UTE A-League action gets underway the following week on October 21 with a huge Big Blue between Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory.

Ahead of the season getting underway, here’s everything you need to know from kick-off times, broadcast and international breaks, plus much, much more.

‘Summer Period’ kick off times

During the ‘summer period’ (mid-December to end of February) of season 2023-24 there will be no 3pm kick off times in the Liberty A-League and Isuzu UTE A-League.

The APL Heat Policy, recognised as a conservative policy by international standards, remains in place and is an important contributing factor in the scheduling process and throughout the season.

No pause for AFC Asian Cup

The Isuzu UTE A-League will not pause for the upcoming Asian Cup set to take place between 12 January and 10 February 2024, and the AFC U-23 Asian Cup Qatar 2024 (Olympic Qualifiers) in April and May 2024 due to the knock-on effect to congested fixturing and to retain fixturing continuity throughout the January school holiday period.

“As part of the scheduling, we’ve been working closely with Football Australia, Clubs and other stakeholders to determine the best path forward for our season alongside the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023,” A-Leagues Commissioner Nick Garcia said.

Joel King (right) at the FIFA World Cup at Qatar could be in the Socceroos squad for the Asian Cup

“In order to maintain consistency, to avoid mid-week regular season games and congestion with the AFC Champions League and AFC Cup competitions, it has collectively been decided that we will not pause the regular season during the tournament.

“From a fan perspective, we have also scheduled league games to be played in the lead up to key AFC Asian Cup fixtures where possible – to ensure there is no overlap and to give fans football double-headers.”


This season will see a reduction in the number of simultaneous matches and more fixtures at family-friendly times to make it easier for fans to attend and watch more games.

  • Every Liberty A-League match will be made available live and free on 10 Play, and live on Paramount+.
  • Each weekend the top Isuzu UTE A-League matches will be broadcast live and free on 10 Bold and 10 Play every Saturday night and Sunday afternoon, ad-break free, whistle to whistle, with all matches live on Paramount+.
  • Watch every Liberty A-League and Isuzu UTE A-League match live on Sky Sport in New Zealand.
  • Every Friday night match of the Isuzu UTE A-League season will be live and exclusive to Paramount+ with plenty of epic battles each week, kicking off in Round One as Adelaide United host reigning champions Central Coast Mariners.
  • All A-Leagues matches are available live on Paramount+, plus minis, highlights and replays available to stream.
Liberty A-League Pass

The Liberty A-League Pass was launched this month, offering a free season pass to under 16 year olds to the Liberty A-League season 2023-24, and has already surpassed last season’s full season total.

For more information and to sign-up head to https://keepup.com.au/liberty-a-league-pass/.

FIFA breaks

All FIFA date breaks will be observed for the Men’s and Women’s FIFA International Match Calendars with the Liberty A-League recognising the October, November-December, February, April FIFA windows, and the Isuzu UTE A-League recognising October, November and March FIFA windows.

Season End

The Liberty A-League and Isuzu UTE A-League finals series will both conclude in May 2024. With the addition of a 12th team, the Liberty A-League Finals Series has been expanded from four to six teams, with the format to mirror the Isuzu UTE A-League. 

The Liberty A-League Grand Final is set to take place on the weekend of May 4-5, while the Isuzu UTE A-League Grand Final is set to take place on the weekend of 25-26 May.