A Decade In The Making – Sydney FC Are Premiers


Sydney FC 2 (Polias 29’, Ibini 72’) def. Melbourne Victory 1 (Cooney-Cross 90’+5’)

A fantastic performance from Sydney FC has wrapped up the Westfield W-League 2020-21 Premiership thanks to a spectacular free kick from Teresa Polias and a Princess Ibini penalty.

Highlights: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory


Moments That Mattered: 

  1. WHEELER SHOT SAVED – 3’ – Great speed down the left from Wheeler with the midfielder getting the wrong side of her defender to shoot from an angle but Garton is out quickly to smoother.
  2. HAWKESBY SHOT OVER – 5’ – Ibini drives into the box on the left and crosses to Hawkesby who puts her shot over.
  3. SIEMSEN SHOT SAVED 8’ – Siemsen picks up the ball in the opposition half, takes a couple touches before unleashing a drive which is saved by the keeper.
  4. POLIAS GOAL – 30’ – Sydney FC win a free kick on the edge of the box and Polias hits a fantastic free-kick over the wall and perfectly into the top corner of the net.
  5. HAWKESBY SHOT SAVED 42’ – Hawkesby received the ball from Siemsen just inside the edge of the box, controls with her knee and volleys towards goal, only for Garton to make a full length save.
  6. SIEMSEN SHOT SAVED 48’ – Wheeler’s long range shot is parried by Garton who somehow gets a hand to Siemsen’s follow-up shot to prevent a certain goal.
  7. IBINI GOAL – 73’ – Siemsen is brought down on the left side of the box and Ibini steps up to confidently fire home the spot kick.
  8. WHEELER CHANCE 84’ – Wheeler runs down the defender but her touch is just too heavy and falls into the hands of the keeper.
  9. COONEY-CROSS GOAL – 90’+5’ – Cooney-Cross fires home a late consolation for Melbourne Victory but it’s Sydney FC’s night.


Sydney FC has produced a Premiership performance to defeat Melbourne Victory 2-1 at Cromer Park and lift the Premiers Plate.

Led by Sky Blues skipper Teresa Polias, the home side were in the ascendancy early in the contest creating a number of quick chances. 

However it took until the 30th minute for them to lead with captain Polias hitting a superb free kick from the edge of the box into the top corner.

Hawkesby and Siemsen had further chances to increase the lead before Siemsen was brought down in the box and Ibini dispatched the spot kick.

Melbourne Victory hit a late consolation in the fifth minute of injury time through Cooney-Cross but it wasn’t enough and it was all about the Premiers.


What they said: Ante Juric: “I was super pleased about the effort tonight, it was second to none. 

“You could see it in their eyes they wanted it and it was apparent in the performance.

“As for the season, I’m super proud because we planned this a while ago, having a young team with all Australian players, and to win it and be Premiers is unbelievable.

“Our average age is 22 years old and to win the W-League Premiership like that has probably never been done before.

“To do it losing your two centre-halves who would have been starters then Cortnee Vine, and to have other injuries is fantastic.

“Everyone did their job and showed courage to keep going and I’m just super, super proud of them.”


Sydney FC: 1. Jada WHYMAN (GK), 2. Teresa POLIAS ©, 3. Charlotte McLEAN, 5. Ally GREEN (17. Angelique HRISTODOULOU 89’), 6. Clare WHEELER, 8. Rachel LOWE (19. Charlize RULE 80’), 10. Remy SIEMSEN (9. Allira TOBY 88’), 12. Natalie TOBIN, 13. Natasha PRIOR, 15. Mackenzie HAWKESBY (18. Taylor RAY 88’), 20.Princess IBINI.

Subs: 40. Eliza CAMPBELL (GK).

Yellow Cards: Hawkesby 33’.

Red Cards: None.

Melbourne Victory:  1. Gabby GARTON (gk), 3. Claudia BUNGE, 7. Kyra COONEY-CROSS, 8. Angela BEARD, 10. Annalie LONGO (4. Natalie MARTINEAU 78’), 11. Lisa De VANNA (19.Lia PRIVITELLI 79’), 13. Polly DORAN, 14. Melina AYRES, 15. Amy JACKSON (2. Tiffany ELIADIS 73’), 18. Kayla MORRISON, 30. Melinda BARBIERI, (9. Catherine ZIMMERMAN 61’).

Subs: 20. Mel MAIZELS (gk).

Yellow Cards:  Cooney-Cross 68’, Ayres 88’.

Red Cards: None

Venue: Cromer Park.

Referee: Kate Jacewicz


thin per