10 Man Sky Blues Felled By Last Minute Penalty


A last minute penalty has seen a 10 man Sydney FC outfit fall to Adelaide United 2-1 at Coopers Stadium on Friday night.


Sydney FC 1 (70’ Holosko) def by. Adelaide United 2 (62’ Jeggo, 90+4’ Carrusca)

A last minute penalty has seen a 10 man Sydney FC outfit fall to Adelaide United 2-1 at Coopers Stadium on Friday night.

Alex Gersbach received his marching orders inside the first 30 minutes, leaving the Sky Blues to play out the remainder of the match with 10 men, however a resolute defensive performance ensured the match was fiercely contested until the end.

James Jeggo opened the scoring in the second half however the Sky Blues were soon on the attack, forcing the Reds deep, as Filip Holosko restored parity with just under 20 minutes to play with a calm volley inside the area.

Marcello Carrusca sealed victory from the penalty spot with the last kick of the game however, as referee Strebre Delovski awarded a contentious penalty to the home side following a collision in the area between Jacques Faty and Dylan McGowan.

Sydney FC are next in action against the Wellington Phoenix away from home at Westpac Stadium on Saturday 19 December (kick off 5:15pm AEDT).



62’ JEGGO GOAL – Jeggo volleys home the opener from outside the area, with a slight deflection off Matthew Jurman, after earlier rattling the cross bar with a similar effort in the build up.

70’ HOLOSKO GOAL – Filip Holosko restored parity from inside the area as he chested the ball down before volleying into the far corner on the turn.

90+4’ CARRUSCA PENALTY – With one of the last kicks of the game, Marcelo Carrusca fires his penalty high into the top right corner to seal the three points for the home side.


Key Moments

7’ TAVARES CHANCE – Fed the ball by Naumoff off a set piece routine, Mickael Tavares attempts to curl an effort in first time from outside the area forcing a sharp save from Galekovic.

28’ GERSBACH RED CARD – Contesting possession, Alex Gersbach dives in for a challenge however he miss-times the tackle and catches Jeggo high to receive a straight red card.

32’ SANCHEZ HITS THE BAR – Adelaide are awarded a set piece on the left flank and Pablo Sanchez catches Janjetovic off guard as he curls the set piece into the bar.

40+3’ SANCHEZ GOAL RULED OUT – Pablo Sanchez leaps highest to head Jeggo’s cross beyond Janjetovic and in, however his body is just offside and the goal is correctly ruled out.

55’ JANJETOVIC SAVE – Vedran Janjetovic makes himself big at the far post to deny Pablo Sanchez after the Spaniard latches on to a great ball over the defence.

80’ HOLOSKO BLOCK – Fresh from scoring the equaliser, Filip Holosko chips in with defensive duties as he expertly tracks Carrusca’s run into the area before dispossessing him as he winds up to shoot.

90+2 SIMON EFFORT – Neat interplay between Holosko and Simon releases the latter into space on the edge of the area, however the effort curls wide.

90+3’ ADELAIDE UNITED PENALTY – Jacques Faty and Dylan McGowan collide in the area and referee Strebre Delovski awards a spot kick.

Team News

Sydney FC 1 (70’ Holosko) def by. Adelaide United 2 (62’ Jeggo, 90+4’ Carrusca)

Sydney FC Head Coach Graham Arnold was forced into two changes to the squad that defeated the Newcastle Jets last Friday night. Alex Brosque missed the trip with a hamstring strain, as Shane Smeltz returned to the starting lineup, while Andrew Hoole was a late withdrawal with Christopher Naumoff taking his place on the wing. Brandon O’Neill returned to the bench after missing out last week while Shane Smeltz captained the squad in Brosque’s absence.

Ground: Coopers Stadium  

Referee: Strebre Delovski

Sydney FC:  1. Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 2. Seb RYALL, 3. Alex GERSBACH, 5. Matt JURMAN, 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC (72’ Brandon O’NEILL), 9. Shane SMELTZ (c) (81’ Matt SIMON), 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Christopher NAUMOFF (29’ Jacques FATY), 21. Filip HOLOSKO, 23. Rhyan GRANT, 27. Mickael TAVARES.

Subs not used: 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 24. George BLACKWOOD.

Yellow cards: 8’ Jurman, 57’ Dimitrijevic, 81’ O’Neill.

Red cards: 28’ Gersbach.

Adelaide United: 1. Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk), 2. Michael MARRONE (88’ Bruce DJITE), 4. Dylan MCGOWAN, 7. Pablo SANCHEZ, 8. ISAIAS, 9. Sergio CIRIO, 10. Marcelo CARRUSCA, 16. Craig GOODWIN, 18. James JEGGO, 21. Tarek ELRICH, 23. Jordan ELSEY.

Subs not used: 20. John HALL (gk), 14. George MELLS, 15. Benjamin WARLAND, 17. Mate DUGANDZIC.

Yellow cards: 6’ Elrich, 36’ Galekovic.

Red cards: None