Sky Blues’ U20’s Go Down In Shootout



Sydney FC 2 (Tilio 7’, 69’) def by Sutherland Sharks 2 (Everett 21’, Quirk 59’) (3-1 on penalties)

Sydney FC have been heartbreakingly denied in the NSW NPL1 under 20’s Grand Final losing 3-1 on penalties at Leichhardt Oval.

The Sky Blues missed three out of their four penalties having finished regular and extra time with a two all draw.

Marco Tilio opened the scoring for Sydney FC before goals from Everett and Quirk put the Sharks ahead. 

Tilio equalised from a free kick with around 20 minutes to go and from there the deadlock couldn’t be broken until penalties.

Scibilio scored from his penalty however Swibel, van Meurs and Bonanni missed to leave Sutherland with a winning fourth penalty.

What They Said

Giancarlo Italiano: “I’m extremely proud of all the boys and the staff,” he said.

“It was a fantastic season. Overall I think we were the leading goalscorers in all men’s senior divisions throughout Australia but in the end we were our own worst enemy.

“They are dejected. They worked so hard all year to win this competition but the bigger picture is getting them to a higher level and a lot of these boys will be playing in a higher level next year.”



7’ TILIO GOAL – Tilio latches onto a ball over the top from Teague to lift the ball over the advancing keeper and into the back of the net.

21’ EVERETT GOAL – Everett smashes the ball into the roof of the net from a tight angle on the right of the box.

59’ QUIRK GOAL – A scramble in the box and the ball falls at the feet of Quirk who slams the ball home.

69’ TILIO GOAL – Tilio curls a free kick in from wide on the left which evades everyone and finds the back of the net.

Penalty Shootout

Swibel – Sydney FC – miss – 0-0

Everett – Sutherland Sharks – score – 0-1

Van Meurs – Sydney FC – miss – 0-1

Jennings – Sutherland Sharks – score – 0-2

Scibilio – Sydney FC – score – 1-2

Third Sutherland Sharks – miss – 1-2

Bonanni – Sydney FC – miss – 1-2

Stewart – Sutherland Sharks – score – 1-3


Key Moments

23’ OFF THE LINE TILIO – Thomas Fay bursts down the left wing and fires in a shot which is parried by the keeper and falls to Marco Tilio who takes a touch before seeing his shot cleared off the line.

30’ VAN DER SAAG SHOT – Van der Saag shoots from range and his curling shot is tipped over the bar.

51’ LAMBERTON HEADER – A lofted cross from a short corner finds the head of Lamberton but his flick is just over the bar.

85’ EVANS SAVE – Sydney FC lose the ball in their own half and Jennings has a two on one situation. He lays it off to Everett but Evans is out quickly to block and the ball is cleared.

100’ SWIBEL CHANCE – Tilio gets to the byline on the right and cuts the ball back for Swibel who sends a backheeled flick just wide of the post.

102’ SWIBEL SHOT – Tilio makes a run and lays the ball off to Swibel who hits it from outside the box but the keeper dives to his right and saves low.

109’ SWIBEL FREE KICK – An indirect free kick in the box is taken by Swibel but it’s blocked by the wall.

Team News

Ground: Leichhardt Oval

Sydney FC: 1. Mitchell EVANS (40. David MALISHEV 108’), 24. Daniel BLACHURA, 29. Thomas FAY, 18. Ben KOOP (32. Evan TSAKOS 84’), 27. Hamish LAMBERTON (9. Dan MASKIN 66’), 5. Patrick SCIBILIO, 31. Ryan TEAGUE (13. Jordan SWIBEL 66’), 19. Giuseppe TILIO, 17. Marco TILIO, 22. Harry van der SAAG (28. Paolo BONANNI 66’), 26. Ben VAN MEURS.

Subs Not Used: None.

201819 Membership Correct Size Thin Banner 2000x180